Going East

Lutheranism has been my church home for most the past year. I love being Lutheran. I love the fact that I absolutely didn’t need to do anything to earn my salvation, it all comes through faith. I especially loved the sacramental, and liturgical aspect of it.

The liturgy of the Mass in the Lutheran Book of Worship is beautiful. The highlight of my week is receiving the body and blood of Jesus in the Eucharist in Mass. I also look forward to going to confession, and receiving absolution for the sins that trouble me the most.

Yet despite my love for all these things, I feel broken, and crushed, physically, mentally and spiritually speaking. My health isn’t so great. I felt like I was spiritually dead over the last few months.

Until Easter, I had a period of almost two month’s absence from church. Part of this was from my ailing health, and the other part I just was too emotionally exhausted to pick myself up, and keep going. I need healing, physically, and spiritually. I do not think Lutheranism can give me this.

Anyone who knows me knows I love the church fathers, especially the cappadocian fathers (Basil the Great, Gregory of Nanzianus and Gregory of Nyssa). Three churches exist that have kept intact all of the teachings of the Fathers, and the Apostles. These churches are the Roman Catholic Church, Eastern Orthodoxy, and the Oriental Orthodox churches.

I have made the decision that I am going to become Eastern Orthodox. Late last year, (November to late December), I spent a significant amount of time at St. Matthew’s Greek Orthodox Church in Blandon.

I become very close to the people there, and they treated me like I was part of a family, even though they’d only known me for a short while. This was touching to me, and I still remember it.

This Sunday (the 23rd of April) I am going back to St. Matthew’s, and will make it my church home. I am hoping sometime after that to start talking about catechism, and eventually charismation.

Eastern Orthodoxy is the original church, and has ancient Christian spirituality, and sacraments that I am hoping may provide me a more suitable church home, physically, and spiritually. Right now, I need healing, and I do not think Protestantism can offer me anything in that regards.

Leave a Reply

